Car News

New Mazda CX-9 to offer four grades… here later the year

The new Mazda CX-9 will arrive in Australia later this year, and the new seven-seater will be available in four trim levels with the Azami the new pinnacle model.

THE NEW MAZDA CX-9 will fall into line with the rest of its SUV siblings when it arrives in Australia later this year, available in four trim levels. These are: the entry-level Sport, the mid-spec Touring, the GT and the top-spec Azami.

The CX-9 will be available in both front- and all-wheel drive with eight models now available in the range, the largest ever in the CX-9s history. Some of the  key mentionables include, 8.4L/100km in front-drive models, and 8.8L/100km in AWD models. This is a fuel consumption cut of almost 25% on the current car.

Mazda’s new 2.5-litre direct injection four-cylinder turbocharged petrol engine offers 170kW and 420Nm and is capable of running on 91RON or E10 fuel. It offers both i-stop and i-ELOOP. What are they? i-stop is Mazda’s term for start-stop technology, and i-ELOOP is a capacitor-based brake energy generation system that stores energy which is used to power the vehicle’s electrical system.

“This is the most comprehensive Mazda CX-9 range ever,” said Mazda Australia marketing director Alastair Doak.

“Four grades in both Front and All-Wheel Drive, this brings the Mazda CX-9 range in line with the four distinct grades that we offer on Mazda CX-5 and Mazda CX-3. Both of which have proved to be very appealing to Australian car buyers.

“When the Brand-New Mazda CX-9 arrives, thanks to the strength of the range and the significantly improved fuel economy figures, there is certainly something for everyone.”

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Isaac Bober

Isaac Bober