Ford Australia has announced that almost 80% of its local fleet will be available with EcoBoost engine technology by 2015.

AS PART OF THIS “product onslaught” Ford will introduce three new EcoBoost engines to “new or refreshed models by mid-2015 to offer customers more power and economy”. These models are likely to be Falcon, Focus and Kuga. “Already confirmed on the 2015 Ford Kuga, the new 110 kW, 134 kW and 176 kW EcoBoost engines will feature in a range of models next year,” a statement read.

Ford’s EcoBoost philosophy sees smaller engines combine with turbocharging, direct injection and variable-valve timing for improved performance and fuel efficiency.

“EcoBoost technology is at the cutting edge of engine downsizing and the 1.0-litre EcoBoost winning International Engine of the Year in 2012, 2013 and 2014 is a clear proof point of that,”said Ford Australia Vice President of Marketing, Sales and Service, Graeme Whickman.

In 2014, Ford’s 1.0-litre EcoBoost engine beat Volkswagen’s 1.4-litre TSI twincharger and the Mercedes-AMG 2.0-litre turbo, among other engines, to take out overall International Engine of the Year. Ford claims EcoBoost engines can deliver up to 20% better fuel economy than larger-displacement petrol engines.

Ford’s current EcoBoost line-up:

  • Ford Fiesta Sport: 92 kW 1.0-litre EcoBoost;
  • Ford Fiesta ST: 134kW 1.6-litre EcoBoost;
  • Ford EcoSport Trend & Titanium: 92kW 1.0-litre EcoBoost;
  • Ford Focus ST: 184kW 2.0-litre EcoBoost;
  • Ford Kuga Ambiente: 110kW and 134 kW 1.5-litre EcoBoost (from January 2015);
  • Ford Kuga Trend & Titanium: 176 kW 2.0-litre EcoBoost (from January 2015);
  • Ford Mondeo Zetec & Titanium: 149 kW 2.0-litre EcoBoost; and
  • Ford Falcon: 179 kW 2.0-litre EcoBoost.

China-only Citroen C3-XR revealed


2014 Mazda3 Touring review

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Check Also